Saturday, September 4, 2021

Women Poets Occupy the Workspace / Zoomspace. Labor Day Reading

Maria Mazziotti Gillan, as a contributor to the anthology Raising Lilly Ledbetter: Women Poets Occupy the Workspace (Lost Horse Press, 2015), will be participating in their Labor Day reading on September 6, 2021. After this ground-breaking anthology was published, there were a number of readings, launches and other events to celebrate this book and the issues of women in the workplace that it confronts. 

In January 2009, after President Obama signed the Lilly Ledbetter Fair Pay Act into law, his first legislative act after taking office, poets Carolyne Wright and Eugenia Toledo began to think about the need to hear more from women about their workplace experiences—not just pay and promotion inequity, or workplace harassment and intimidation, but all matters relevant to women and work in an increasingly globalized world, including the ever-widening range of occupations in which women are engaged, and their joy and satisfaction of work well done.


This second annual virtual reading for this anthology honors the late Ruth Bader Ginsburg and is titled "LABOR DAY with RAISING LILLY LEDBETTER: Women Poets Occupy the Workspace / Zoomspace."  Maria and other poets will be "zooming" into the event which will be available on Facebook Live for the worldwide audience at CULTIVATING VOICES LIVE POETRY

The event will be held on Monday, September 6, 2021 at 12 noon (Pacific Time), 3 p.m. (Eastern Time), 2 p.m. (Central) and 1 p.m. (Mountain). They also expect an audience tuning in from several other time zones, including Ireland, Chile (where Co-Editor Eugenia Toledo continues to shelter in place) and other locales.

Last year's event is archived at facebook.com/slyoly/videos/10157985680884132



 




Maria Mazziotti Gillan's new poetry collection is When the Stars Were Still Visible (2021). Other recent publications are the poetry and photography collection, Paterson Light and Shadow and the poetry collections What Blooms in Winter and The Girls in the Chartreuse Jackets which pairs her poems with her paintings. Maria's artist's website is MariaMazziottiGillan.com and her poetry website is MariaGillan.com.

No comments:

Post a Comment